To content
Department of Computer Science


The Department of Computer Science currently consists of more than 20 professorships with a wide variety of research and teaching focuses.


Theoretical computer science

Practical computer science

Applied computer science


Honorary Professors

Retired and emeritus university teachers

  • Prof. em. Dr. Heinz Beilner (Practical Computer Science and Quantitative Methods)
  • Prof. Dr. Joachim Biskup (Information Systems and Security)
  • Prof. Dr. Gisbert Dittrich (Automata and Systems Theory) † 2019
  • Prof. Dr. Ernst-Erich Doberkat (Software Technology)
  • Prof. Dr. Gabriele Kern-Isberner (Information Engineering)
  • Prof. Dr. Heiko Krumm (Computer Networks and Distributed Systems)
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Marwedel (Computer Engineering and Embedded Systems)
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. Claudio Moraga (Automata Theory)
  • Prof. Dr. Heinrich Müller (Graphical Systems)
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Padawitz (Theory of Data Types)
  • Prof. Dr. Bernd Reusch (Automata and Switching Theory) † 2017
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. Sc. h.c. Hans-Paul Schwefel (System Analysis)
  • Prof. Dr. Horst F. Wedde (Operating Systems and Computer Architecture) † 2018
  • Prof. Dr. Ingo Wegener (Efficient Algorithms and Complexity Theory) † 2008